Somerset County Council

Somerset County Council

Somerset County Council, based in Taunton is the last tier before national government. The Council’s duties and services are managed by the 55 elected Councillors (known within the Council as Members). Its responsibilities include:

Somerset County Council LogoEducation
Social care and health
Emergency Planning
Highways and Road Safety
Rights of Way
The Environment, Waste Disposal and minerals plan
Libraries and Museums

In Somerset there are four district councils: Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset and West Somerset; and one borough council: Taunton Deane. Visit the Somerset County Council website –

The County also deals with floods as the Lead Local Flood Authority (LLFA) as defined by the new Flood and Water Management Act 2010 and the Flood Risk Regulations 2009. Find more information on Somerset’s Flood & Water Management page.

Last updated April 2020