## Agenda item 5

For decision – Grants Committee remit and membership

Author: Laura Flaherty, Executive Assistant to the Town Clerk and Mayor

At the Council meeting on 14 June it was agreed to establish a Grants Committee. This report now makes recommendations for the remit and membership of this committee.

## **Grants Committee remit**

The committee will be responsible for a review of:

- a. The design and content of the application forms for both Community Grants and Mayor's Grants
- b. The design and content of the terms and conditions for both Community Grants and Mayor's Grants
- c. Set the criteria that applications must demonstrate
- d. Setting three application rounds per year for Community Grants and the associated closing dates and meeting dates of the committee to be held in public
- e. To publicise the meeting dates of the Grants Committee in advance
- f. Setting a scoring system, related to the criteria, for the committee to inform their decision making
- g. To decide whether to award grants based on the applications received.
- h. Record the reasons why applications were refused and any changes to grants awarded.
- i. Inform applicants of the committee's decision.

## Grants Committee membership

The committee should consist of at least six Cllrs. The following Cllrs are proposed as members of the committee:

Philip Campagna (Chair)
Carla Collenette
Anne Hills
Andy Jones
Lisa Merryweather
Steve Tanner
Andy Wrintmore

## Recommendations

- 1. Approve the remit of the Grants Committee
- 2. Approve the membership of the Grants Committee