Home > Your Council > Local Government Overview

Local Government Overview

There are three tiers of local Government which serve residents in the county of Somerset: county, district and town or parish councils. View the definitive ward map for the three tiers (PDF, 4.57MB)

In Frome, the local authorities are: Frome Town Council, Mendip District Council, Somerset County Council.

Frome Town Council

At the grass roots level are town and parish councils including Frome Town Council which has 17 Councillors representing 8 Wards.

The Town Council acts as a consultee and lobbying force with both the County and District Councils, putting forward the wishes and needs of the local community.

The list of the Statutory Spending Powers of Parish Councils gives examples of things that parish councils can do with legislation that provides the power to act and therefore to spend money on.

Local authorities (County and District) raise their income in a number of different ways. Council Tax makes up 25% of the revenue, Business Rates 24%, 18% is recovered in fees and charges and the remaining 33% comes from central government.

Parish Councils receive no money from central government and receive no contribution from the Business Rates.

Find out more about Frome Town Council, our areas of focus, and what we do.

Mendip District Council

Mendip District Council logo
mendip logo

The District Council, based in Shepton Mallet, has 47 elected Councillors representing 35 electoral wards. Its responsibilities include:

  • Building Regulations
  • Car Parks
  • Cemeteries
  • Concessionary Bus Fares
  • Council Tax and Council Tax Benefit
  • Social Housing and Housing Benefit
  • Economic Development
  • Elections
  • Food Safety and Hygiene
  • Licensing
  • Local Plans and Planning Applications
  • Markets
  • Pest Control
  • Refuse Collection
  • Sports Centres
  • Street Cleaning
  • Trading Standards
  • Tree Preservation

Visit Mendip District Council website.

Somerset County Council

The County Council, based in Taunton is the last tier before national government. The Council’s duties and services are managed by the 55 elected Councillors (known within the Council as Members). Its responsibilities include:

  • Education
  • Social Services
  • Fire Brigade
  • Emergency Planning
  • Highways and Road Safety
  • Rights of Way
  • The Environment, Waste Disposal and Mineral Sites
  • Libraries and Museums

In Somerset there are four district councils: Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset and West Somerset; and one borough council: Taunton Deane.

Visit the Somerset County Council website.

Our MP

Last checked May 2020

12 May 2014
Last Updated
17 December 2020